A Vision Of Fire

A Vision Of Fire

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
1
1
Rate this:
"The first novel from iconic X-Files star Gillian Anderson and New York Times bestselling author Jeff Rovin: a science fiction thriller of epic proportions. Renowned child psychologist Caitlin O'Hara is a single mom trying to juggle her job, her son, and a lackluster dating life. Her world is suddenly upturned when Maanik, the daughter of India's ambassador to the United Nations, starts speaking in tongues and having violent visions. Caitlin is sure that her fits have something to do with the recent assassination attempt on her father--a shooting that has escalated nuclear tensions between India and Pakistan to dangerous levels--but when teenagers around the world start having similar outbursts, Caitlin begins to think that there's a more sinister force at work. In Haiti, a student claws at her throat, drowning on dry land. In Iran, a boy suddenly and inexplicably sets himself on fire. Animals, too, are acting irrationally, from rats in New York City to birds in South America to ordinary house pets. With Asia on the cusp of nuclear war, Caitlin must race across the globe to uncover the mystical links among these seemingly unrelated incidents in order to save her patient--and perhaps the world"--
Publisher: New York :, Simon & Schuster/ Simon451,, 2014
Edition: First Simon451 hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781476776538
1476776539
9781476776521
1476776520
Branch Call Number: F
Characteristics: 292 pages ;,24 cm
Additional Contributors: Rovin, Jeff

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
sat7
Jan 28, 2016

Sometimes one cannot read back from the latest installment. Such a time. If you are looking at this series be sure to start at book one.

p
palaminopony
Sep 13, 2015

“A Vision of Fire” is about Caitlin O’Hara, a young New York City psychiatrist and single mother. One day, Caitlin is called in to help a young girl named Maanak after she suffers a psychotic break. However, Caitlin has other ideas about what may be afflicting the young girl, especially when other teenagers around the world begin to experience the exact same attacks as Maanik. As Caitlin and her friend Ben dive deeper into the mysterious illness affecting the teens, they must race against time and history to try and come up with answers.

“A Vision of Fire” is the first book in the ‘EarthEnd Saga’, and falls into the scifi genre. This novel is incredible, and has a rapid, interesting plot line. The plot also is a perfect blend of science fiction and reality. The characters of “A Vision of Fire” are all unique, and each one is believable and realistic. Caitlin is a driven and lovable protagonist, and the diverse supporting characters are all wonderful. “A Vision of Fire” is an expansive book, with multiple countries all different from each other acting as the setting. This helps to create a sense of unity among nations, which is an important part of the book.

The author of this review highly recommends “A Vision of Fire”, as it is a clever and engaging novel. There are some symbols and deeper meanings in “A Vision of Fire”, but not enough to sustain an essay or ‘book talk’. Due to some scary scenes, the author of this review believes this novel to be suitable for ages sixteen and up.

ChristchurchLib Nov 09, 2014

"Some readers might recognize Gillian Anderson's name from her years playing Agent Dana Scully on television's popular X-Files. Prepare to get to know her as an author -- A Vision of Fire is the 1st in a planned series. Starring Manhattan psychiatrist Caitlin O'Hara, this science-fiction-tinged thriller begins with the bizarre, self-harming behaviour of the 16-year-old daughter of the Indian ambassador to the U.N. -- though soon adolescents around the world are exhibiting similar symptoms. Gripping and well-paced, this is one for fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child's Pendergast novels to try." Thrillers and Suspense November 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/c10208aa-343b-4f25-b65f-8c1adfb66e39?postId=9446f4c4-5e7f-4b55-83e1-3c90465e650f

Summary

Add a Summary

2
203JAZZY
Jul 04, 2016

A child psychologist seeks to help the teenage daughter of a UN diplomat who is having mysterious psychotic episodes and uncontrollable fits, no longer herself. This leads her to travel across the globe to explore similar conditions. The connections are astounding, with global implications. Does all this have something to do with a mysterious artifact? Aliens? A historic civilization? The well-developed, strong character of Caitlin O’Hara and straightforward writing style hooked me on this book!

Quotes

Add a Quote

2
203JAZZY
Jul 03, 2016

Approach to problems: acknowledge them, solve them, file them, and go to dinner.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top