The Mindfulness Survival Kit

The Mindfulness Survival Kit

Unknown - 2014
Rate this:
The Five Mindfulness Trainings (also referred to as "Precepts")--not to kill, steal, commit adultery, lie, or take intoxicants--are the basic statement of ethics and morality in Buddhism. Zen Master and peace activist Thich Nhat Hanh argues eloquently for their applicability in our daily lives and on a global scale. Nhat Hanh discusses the value and meaning of each precept, offering insights into the role that it could play in our changing society.

Thich Nhat Hanh calls the trainings a "diet for a mindful society." With this book he offers a Buddhist contribution to the current thinking on how we can come together to define secular, moral guidelines that will allow us to explore and sustain a sane, compassionate, and healthy way of living. The Five Mindfulness Trainings offer a path to restoring meaning and value in our world, whether called virtues, ethics, moral conduct, or precepts they are guidelines for living without bringing harm to others.
Publisher: Berkeley, California :, Parallax Press,, [2014]
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781937006600
Characteristics: 1 online resource (203 pages) :,illustrations
Additional Contributors: Neumann, Rachel


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at CML.

Try searching for The Mindfulness Survival Kit to see if CML owns related versions of the work.

Suggest for Purchase

To Top