A Simple Favor

A Simple Favor

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
"A debut psychological thriller--in the vein of GONE GIRL or GIRL ON A TRAIN--that focuses on a mommy blogger, her best friend who disappears suddenly, and the latter's husband--with betrayals and reversals, a dead body, and the ever-revolving question of who is duping whom"--
"She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous. A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train"--
Publisher: ©2017
New York, NY :, Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, [2017]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062497772
0062497774
Branch Call Number: F Bell
Characteristics: 298 pages ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
heidijoemonty
May 14, 2018

Ugh, this book. A poorly written "Gone Girl" type story for readers who might have liked the 50 Shades series. The incest storyline was completely unnecessary and there was no real resolution. I thought that the story was going to go somewhere, and its a pretty short book so I stuck it out. Also, I have a hard time believing the author is a real person. The author's description on the back flap usually tells the reader something about their life as an insight to their writing style, but since it's so sparse it just reeks of a really bad ghost writer. Skip this one.

j
jachayden
Sep 13, 2017

Mix the plot of Gone Girl, an open disdain for women who are not mothers (why?), an open disdain for British people (WHY?), and a bit of incest, and you'll get this book.

The main character was so unbelievably stupid I wanted to keep reading on because it made me feel better about myself. I'm not pleased by how self-righteous the character is about being a mother. There's more to life than your 5-year-old. This book also portrays British people, especially British men, as stereotypically dumb, dull, stupid, selfish, cheaters, and self-conscious to the point of not being able to stand up for themselves. As a British person who is verrrry happily childless, I was deeply insulted by the implications of the author and characters throughout the story.

Story starts out a lot like Gone Girl, and ends a lot like Gone Girl, with a whole bunch of not necessarily necessary muddling through the middle. Confusing towards the end.

b
Blabbermouth
Sep 01, 2017

It certainly drew me in & I kept going because I wanted to know how it ended but as I entered further into it I began to find the characters more unbelievable. The gullibility of the friend Stephanie was convincing enough until she started revealing her own secrets and still continued to stay along side even when she had learned nothing was as it seemed. Sean was to weak to be believable but Emily didn't seem completed somehow? It was a mystery that was outside of the box which made it appealing to me.

t
therapymutt
Aug 08, 2017

Gone girl copy

w
wilqser
Jun 01, 2017

Totally disappointment here - just a waste of time. No character integrity - even their flaws are unbelievable; no plausible plot line; unrealistic cop procedure; and a storyline that leaves you up in the air. Not one of the best books I've read so far - to put it mildly.

ArapahoeKati Apr 17, 2017

I was drawn in right away, but about halfway through I figured out what was going to happen. There have been a lot (A LOT) of unreliable narrators in fiction recently, so this one didn't feel as fresh as I would have liked.

g
gogo12127
Mar 31, 2017

I read just over seventy pages of this. I just could not get into it. The self-absorbed narrator of the story was a total bore and really got on my nerves. Someone else might have a different take, though.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top