Arnold Schoenberg

Arnold Schoenberg

Streaming Video - 2007
Rate this:
To pursue new directions in music, Schoenberg bravely abandoned traditional tonal arrangements, composing atonal works that would eventually lead to the development of his unique Twelve-Tone System. In this program, musicologists David Rosen and Michel Fischer discuss the dramatic technical changes as well as the historical contexts of Schoenberg's music. Historic performances include Pierre Boulez conducting Moses and Aaron and Transfigured Night, Op. 4; Glenn Gould's interpretations of Pieces for Piano, Op. 25; Erich Leinsdorf conducting Chamber Symphony No. 1; Jeffrey Tate conducting Chamber Symphony No. 2; and extracts from A Survivor from Warsaw and Pierrot Lunaire.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group, [2007], c1998
Characteristics: 1 streaming video file (27 min.) :,sd., col., digital


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at my library

To Top