Salt To The Sea

Salt To The Sea

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
48
5
2
New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"—The Wall Street JournalFor readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for Salt to the Sea:Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."—The Wall Street Journal ♦ "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."—Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."—New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."—Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."—The Globe and Mail ♦ "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."—Salt Lake Tribune ♦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."—Booklist ♦ *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."—School Library JournalPraise for Between Shades of Gray:A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."—The Washington Post ♦ *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."—BooklistFrom the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9780698172623
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: NC Kids

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
cmlibrary_khunter Feb 21, 2017

This book was memorable and emotional, horrible and yet very real with Sepetys’s characters. I won’t give spoilers, but there is a small bit of hope at the end that makes this book not all tragedy. This is a book to read for 2016, and is among the great YA historical fiction.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
ClarissaFray16
May 25, 2018

After reading this book, I could not believe that I had never heard of the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff, which is the biggest maritime tragedy in all of history. Great book!!! Similar to "All the Light We Cannot See" but geared more towards teens than to adults (but adults will probably enjoy it too)

bookloverjane May 18, 2018

Historical fiction - so well written, with very engaging characters. Great appeal for teens and adults. The author tells us of a "lost story of strength through struggle." My book club gives this book high marks.

s
safinazahra313
Apr 29, 2018

Great book. It is a story of 4 teens who battle through loss, hardship, suffering and war of WW2. Good job Ruta!!

m
MLUNK833
Feb 26, 2018

Beautiful and eloquent writing. Wonderful historical fiction based on the factual demise of the German ship, Wilhelm Gustloff.

ArapahoeLaura Feb 07, 2018

Emotional story of four teen refugees during WWII

OPL_KrisC Feb 03, 2018

This book is set in the winter of 1945 during World War II and follows four refugees who are seeking to escape and end up on the Wilhelm Gustloff. The William Gustloff was an actual ship during WWII and is a part of a tragedy that was 6 times more deadly than the Titanic. I love how reading this fiction book inspired me to research what actually happened on the William Gustloff. I highly recommend this book.

k
Kitakomenome
Nov 10, 2017

This is an amazing book, and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes War, Romance and Historical fiction-like books. Reminds me of the Titanic, which, for the record, is one of the saddest and best movies I have ever seen.

This book is about a group of strangers who become good friends and struggle to make it to a safer land without being caught in the middle of the war. A must read!

m
Marilyn34
Oct 23, 2017

What would you do if you were stuck working with an enemy?

Check out my review of "Salt to the Sea" on my blog at:
http://axarr.blogspot.com/2016/08/review-wednesday-salt-to-sea-by-ruta.html

d
Delia95
Oct 03, 2017

An excellent historical novel for YA. The author retells the personal history of many citizens catch up in the tragedies of WW11 through her wonderful selection of characters. Readers of all ages will want to know what happens to the 4 main characters of this well-written novel.

Vilka Sep 27, 2017

Short chapters (only 1-4 pages long) keep the story moving quickly, watching from the viewpoints of four young protagonists--a Lithuanian nurse with a guilty conscience, a Polish teenager hiding a secret, an evasive Prussian with false papers, and a low-ranking German sailor--as they try to escape the Soviet advance in 1945 and move towards what will be the greatest naval disaster in history. A moving account of ordinary people's experiences in wartime and the struggle for survival. The afterword includes an interesting list of books that the author used for research and inspiration.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

c
ClarissaFray16
May 12, 2018

ClarissaFray16 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

s
safinazahra313
Apr 29, 2018

safinazahra313 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

OPL_KrisC Apr 06, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

g
green_sheep_30
Mar 24, 2018

green_sheep_30 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

b
blue_bee_1863
Jan 06, 2018

blue_bee_1863 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote

ArapahoeMaryA Dec 31, 2016

“But unlike Mama, I would not go to heaven. My secrets padlocked the gates. I'd be a torn kite stuck in the dead branches of a tree, unable to fly.”

KindianaJones_VWML May 06, 2016

"The Fuhrer is a talented watercolorist. He applied to art school [...] but the school did not accept him. Oh, how they will regret it."

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top