Salt To The Sea

Salt To The Sea

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
38
2
Rate this:
New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"—The Wall Street JournalFor readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for Salt to the Sea:Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."—The Wall Street Journal ♦ "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."—Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."—New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."—Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."—The Globe and Mail ♦ "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."—Salt Lake Tribune ♦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."—Booklist ♦ *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."—School Library JournalPraise for Between Shades of Gray:A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."—The Washington Post ♦ *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."—BooklistFrom the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9780698172623
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: NC Kids

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
cmlibrary_khunter Feb 21, 2017

This book was memorable and emotional, horrible and yet very real with Sepetys’s characters. I won’t give spoilers, but there is a small bit of hope at the end that makes this book not all tragedy. This is a book to read for 2016, and is among the great YA historical fiction.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

n
naguiar
Aug 24, 2017

This was an interesting and educational novel. Throughout I found the supporting characters to be infinitely more interesting than the main characters through the Shoe Poet, the Wandering Boy, Ingrid, and Eva. I could have happily gone without Florian's story entirely, and the book would have been significantly better without the ideas of romance. Otherwise, it was an emotional and well-written story I could see myself revisiting.

b
blue_bee_1863
Jul 27, 2017

This is a great book.
I don't particularly consider this book a romance because it's about tragic events. Though it does have some romantic parts I don't recommend for the readers in it for the romance.
Overall, this book captured my heart and made me cry. Emilia's death was something I couldn't let go. Her pregnancy and her baby was shocking but hurt when she was raped.
The death of Poet had me in tears as well.
I am most glad that Joana and Florian took it in their hands to care for them. Joana and Florian are a perfect example of what it feels like to strive for family. How to believe and trust. And to conclude, they couldn't resist the passion building up inside for each other. They are an example of how people held back feelings for others because they are scared they will lose them as well.
Poor families were killed and the blind were treated like dogs.
And as to conclude, I loved this novel.

k
Katrin19
Jul 26, 2017

Loved this book, the characters, the story, the short chapters kept me turning the pages.

d
darladoodles
Jul 20, 2017

Thank you, Ruta Sepetys, for giving a voice to those who were on the Wilhelm Gustloff. So many lives were lost in the Baltic Sea that winter, yet many of us know so much more about the war in France and Germany or the battles in the Pacific. The stories about these Baltic States and their intenable position between Germany and Russian forces has shaped who they are today.

I loved the shifting POVs in this book as they gave us a 360-degree view of the tragedy. The characters Sepetys creates for us, even the supporting ones are developed well. We feel like we know them. The reader feels Joanna's guilt, Florian's fate, Emilia's shame and Alfred's fear. As the story progresses they are soon all on the ship together and then tragedy strikes.

Cynthia_N Apr 13, 2017

Slow start for me with the multiple points of view but it quickly pulled me in. Powerful story based on true events!

h
happycanuck
Apr 03, 2017

Unusual and excellent book based on true events. Couldn't stop reading....yawn.

AL_SHERRI Mar 15, 2017

This is a beautifully written story that takes place during WWII. It depicts the tragedies that all sides endured.

a
annphi
Mar 14, 2017

A powerful,heart wrenching novel that captures you and holds you until the bittersweet end. The depth of research that Sepetys is amazing and we should all be told of his tragic event, which has been overlooked for far too long. The characters are vivid and run the gamut of emotions. A must. must read !!!

AL_KELSEY Mar 10, 2017

Ruta Sepetys never fails to amaze me with her writing and her beautiful storylines. While set in horrible times in history, Sepetys weaves a tale about teens determined to make the most of their situations and work towards contributing to society. This story, set during World War II is no different. The four main characters were perfectly written--they all had their own voices, and even though some of the characters were irritating, they were written that way, because their choices in life weren't the best ones. I vow that I will always read any title by Ruta Sepetys.

cmlibrary_khunter Feb 21, 2017

This book was memorable and emotional, horrible and yet very real with Sepetys’s characters. I won’t give spoilers, but there is a small bit of hope at the end that makes this book not all tragedy. This is a book to read for 2016, and is among the great YA historical fiction.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

AL_MARYA Dec 31, 2016

“But unlike Mama, I would not go to heaven. My secrets padlocked the gates. I'd be a torn kite stuck in the dead branches of a tree, unable to fly.”

KindianaJones_VWML May 06, 2016

"The Fuhrer is a talented watercolorist. He applied to art school [...] but the school did not accept him. Oh, how they will regret it."

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top