Parallel

Parallel

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
A romantic, mind-bending novel about parallel worlds, soul mates, destiny, and the big-time consequences of even our smallest choices, perfect for fans of The Future of Us and Before I Fall. Abby Barnes had it all planned out-high school, college, career-but one decision made in her senior year of high school changed her carefully mapped-out future. When Abby wakes up the morning of her eighteenth birthday, it's as though her past has been rewritten. Abby discovers that a cosmic collision of parallel universes has erased her old reality. Now Abby is falling in love with a boy from her Parallel's memories-a boy she's never even met. She's living the life she always wanted, but what if living her Parallel's life means she loses her soul mate?
Publisher: Made available through hoopla
[United States]:, Harper Collins Publishers ,, 2013
ISBN: 9780062199799
006219979X
Branch Call Number: eBook hoopla
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Apr 15, 2017

Parallel by Lauren Miller was out of this world. A girl named Abigail Hannah Barnes lives in a forever changing world. One minute she is a normal teenage girl, the next she is starring in a movie and starting her first day of college. She was always one of the top five students in her class when it came to grades. Abby had always dreamed of being a journalist practically her whole life, but what she thought would happen may change. I recommend you to read this book. It was awesome. I rate it three out of five stars. P.S. it may be a rather large book.
- @SDJ of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

FindingJane Sep 04, 2014

The premise of a life lived in an alternate reality is skillfully handled here, although it may take a few chapters before the reader can untangle the storyline. Abby’s dilemmas don’t have easy solutions and the writer doesn’t try to tie everything up in a neat package. The notion that the slightest, most trivial actions might have momentous consequences (the butterfly flapping its wings, etc.) is played out carefully; Ms. Miller doesn’t give us any shortcuts as we wrestle through the dual timelines of the heroine and her parallel self. Abby’s fears that she might wind up in a rubber room or in a secret lab somewhere are treated with utmost seriousness and then dismissed in the gentlest of fashions. Without anybody having to say so, you realize that she possesses a layman’s acceptance of science but unreasonable fears of it as well. Warped by seeing one too many science fiction films, she initially shares her problem with the brainy Caitlin only, a secondary but vital character in this YA drama. This is an absorbing novel, filled with well-rounded three-dimensional characters and sparkling dialogue. Ms. Miller also throws in such disparate subjects like rowing, astronomy, religion and Greek mythology and manages to make them all rather interesting. The knowledge that everything and everyone are connected is a awe-inspiring discovery that grows on the protagonist and the reader alike.

b
BethW429
Jul 21, 2014

I wasn't really interested with the book AT FIRST(at that point I had only read the back), but I decided to read it and it was surprisingly GREAT! One of my new FAVORITES! I reread it immediately!

g
GloryyCP
Dec 11, 2013

This book is AMAZING! If you look at it in a different angle...its one girl and three different story mixed with science, love and friendship ! Loved it !

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top