We Only Know So Much

We Only Know So Much

A Novel

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:
A funny and moving debut novel that follows four generations of a singularly weird American family, all living under one roof, as each member confronts a moment of crisis in a narrative told through a uniquely quirky, charming, and unforgettable voice. Acclaimed short story writer Elizabeth Crane, well known to public radio listeners for her frequent and captivating contributions to WBEZ Chicago's Writer's Block Party, delivers a sublime, poignant, and often hilarious first novel, perfect for fans of Jessica Anya Blau's The Summer of Naked Swim Parties and Heather O'Neill's Lullabies for Little Criminals. "Crane has a distinctive and eccentric voice that is consistent and riveting. " -New York Times Book Review
Publisher: Made available through hoopla
[United States]:, Harper Collins Publishers ,, 2012
ISBN: 9780062099488
0062099485
Branch Call Number: eBook hoopla
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TheresaAJ
Oct 13, 2016

This is the October 2016 selection for the Willa Cather Book Club. This novel is a character study of a family who's in crisis but doesn't know it. This multi-generational family includes Great Grandmother Vivian, Grandfather Theodore, Gordon and his wife Jean, and their two children, Priscilla and Otis. It's a cast of characters that isn't living the American dream. Events start accelerating when Jean discovers her lover James hanging from his living room rafters with a note that simply states "I'm sorry." As Jean deals with her grief, other events spin around her and come to a climax when Priscilla finds her grandfather dead on the front porch. Moments of dark humor and the interpretation of an event through characters ranging from 9 to 98 save this novel from being completely dark.

Quotes

Add a Quote

t
TheresaAJ
Oct 13, 2016

"Review: difficult daughter, know-it-all dad, son sweet and okay if a little weird, mom delayed potential/having affair, great-grandmother bitchy, granddad losing it. So we know where we're starting."

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top