Select language, opens an overlay
The Paris Library

The Paris Library

A Novel

Downloadable Audiobook - 2021
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Named a Most Anticipated Book of the Year by Library Journal and Goodreads €́‹Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal. Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor's mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them. A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are--family, friends, and favorite authors--The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.
Publisher: New York :, Simon & Schuster Audio,, 2021
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9781797105000
1797105000
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 sound file (11 hr., 57 min., 35 sec.))
digital, rdatr
audio file, rdaft

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
maipenrai
Mar 26, 2021

"Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris" I hope the facts about the American library have been fact checked as there are glaring errors about WWII. One example: When new of the Pearl Harbor attack is broadcast in Paris. A character asks the questions "Where is Pearl Harbor" "What does kamikaze mean?" Kamikaze flights were a strategy that had pilots crash their planes into American warships - they were suicide missions, They were not used until 1944 near end of WWII when Japan became desperate. The Japanese used dive bombing planes in the Pearl Harbor attack, but no suicide planes were dispatched to crash into the ships. They were distressingly effective without them. When there are errors in historical fact, this undermines faith in the rest of the book..... Toward the end of World War I, when the United States entered the conflict, hundreds of American libraries launched the Library War Service, a massive project to send books to the troops fighting in Europe. By the Armistice, nearly a million and a half books had been sent across the Atlantic to soldiers. Originally known as the American Library Association’s Service for the American Expeditionary Force (AEF) during World War I, the American Library in Paris was formally incorporated in 1920 with a core collection of those wartime books. The outbreak of World War II, and the subsequent German Occupation of France, made it difficult for the Library to continue to provide its services to the population of Paris, especially to French Jews. In spite of the difficult times, the Library did not ultimately close its doors. Under the leadership of director Dorothy M. Reeder, and later through the efforts of the Comtesse de Chambrun, the Library remained active in various capacities throughout the war. I found the book ultimately very interesting. I liked the characters and the story line. Recommend. Kristi & Abby Tabby

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top