Ventus

Ventus

Book - 2000
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Ventus is a large-scale Hard SF adventure novel in the tradition of Larry Niven, Vernor Vinge, and Arthur C. Clarke. Karl Schroeder, a physicist and writer, is a winner of Canada's Aurora Award. His first novel was called the best first fantasy of the year by Science Fiction Chronicle , and now his first SF novel launches a major career in SF.Young Jordan Mason, on the terraformed planet Ventus, has visions. Kidnapped by Calandria May - a human from offworld sent to investigate the AIs (the Winds) of Ventus - Jordan is desperate to find the meaning of his visions, desperate enough to risk calling down the Winds that destroy technology to protect the created environment, who descend and wreak havoc. As a result Jordan escapes from Calandria and sets out to discover his destiny on his own. Calandria and others, both human and AI, search for Jordan, who holds the key to catastrophe or salvation. Ventus is an epic journey across a fascinating planet with a big mystery - why have the Winds fallen silent? It is one of the major, ambitious SF novels of the year and the international launch of an important new hard SF writer.
Publisher: New York : TOR, 2000
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780312871970
031287197X
Branch Call Number: F
Characteristics: 477 pages ;,25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
humming
Jul 08, 2017

So much more than an inspiring well written sci-fi story... utterly profound and timeless reminder for anyone willing to truly embrace life.
Quotes:
"There is not a single person... who would not say, 'save me from the cold, and the dark, and the beasts outside and in.'"
"Let it all in. All the pain, the sorrow, the anger (the fear). Let yourself feel it. Otherwise, it's going to act through you whether you know (or like) it or not."

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top